As an overall rule, in Virginia no person will operate a car on road without a legal license. A first crime driving without a license is not considered a felony but a Class 2 misdemeanor which has a punishment of 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine. A subsequent or third crime is also a Class 1 misdemeanor which has a punishment of one year in jail and a $2,500 fine. For every driving without a license crime in Shenandoah Virginia, the court might suspend your driving rights for 90 days. It is important to simplify the meaning of Virginia’s driving without a license statute. By doing this, you’ll have a clear understanding of the valid law, as well as any defense that might apply in your case.
Penalties for Driving Without a License
If you are charged with driving without a license and found not to be excused from the law, it is significant to contact a Shenandoah driving without a license attorney so you know exactly what type of punishment you are facing. In Shenandoah Virginia, a conviction of driving without a license means that you are automatically facing a potential suspension of your driving rights for 90 days. The suspension is in addition to other possible consequences that depend upon the number of times you have been sentenced of driving without a license. As the number of previous sentences increase, the severer the punishments become. Though, if this is the second time you have been accused with driving without a license in Shenandoah Virginia, a conviction increases the punishment also increased and turns into Class 2 misdemeanor to Class 1. A class 1 misdemeanor under Section 18.2-11 approves a punishment of a maximum of 12 months in jail and a possible fine of $2,500.
Virginia Driving Without License Charge Exceptions
There are some exceptions to the requirements of Va. Code §46.2-300. Following are exempt from driving without a license charge in Virginia:
- Military: Code 46.2-306 permits anyone who is on duty in armed services of the United States, their partners, and children who are 16 years old to drive in Virginia with a legal driver’s license from another state. Furthermore, someone in the armed services driving an official vehicle is excused from gaining a driver’s license in Shenandoah Virginia.
- Non-Virginia Tenant: Code 46.2-307 permits any non-resident having legal license from another state or country to drive a vehicle in Virginia.
- New Residents in Virginia: According to Virginia Code 46.2-308 new Virginia citizens are allowed to drive for 60 days prior to obtaining a driver’s license in Virginia.
- Farm and Building Equipment: Code 46.2-303 allows the operation of highway equipment for maintenance and manufacturing purposes under the direction and control of the Department of Transportation without a legal Virginia driver’s license.
In case you have been accused with driving without a license in Shenandoah Virginia, don’t make the mistake of trying to go it unaccompanied without a skilled Virginia criminal defense attorney.